The Friends of the Takoma Park Maryland Library (FTPML) is an all-volunteer nonprofit organization that supports our local library.

Established in 1994, we fund library activities that encourage reading and learning and that involve the community in library projects.

Read Our Latest Annual Report

Our History

In  the 1990’s, an ad-hoc committee of citizens advocated for state funding to help support the local library built in 1953. While state funding for this community gem failed to come through, Montgomery County ultimately agreed to continue to contribute to the support of the library for its services to Montgomery County residents.

As a result, the ad-hoc committee as well as many community supporters banded together to promote the library and reinforce its role in Takoma Park, MD. FTPML continues to advocate with the city to support the library.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our Programs

FTPML supports library programs and services, including two book clubs, poetry readings, learning/craft activities, author visits, Spring for Poetry, the after-hours book drop box, books for the after-school program at the New Hampshire Recreation Avenue Center, and more.

By becoming a Friend of the Library, your membership fees help us serve the community through programs, including the SummerQuest and WinterQuest reading programs for children, Spanish and French Circle Times, installation and upkeep of Little Free Libraries, and refreshments at adult and children’s events all year long. Learn more about our programs and activities.

Become a Member